Countdown…2 weeks

November 21, 2005

Well now it's only 2 weeks until we go back to Australia for 6 weeks! Just had a great weekend – went to London on Saturday.

First I went and got some Harrods and Fortnum & Mason stuff for the folks back home, just some tea, biscuits etc, tried to get stuff wth relatively low net weights. I suppose gifts of that nature aren't quite as impressive as they once would have been, seeing as we now have a) high-speed international air travel and b) the internet, but hopefully the stuff will still be appreciated.

I also bought myself some stuff – some flat black knee-high boots and some black pointy flat shoes from Jones the Bootmaker. Today the pointy flats are feeling a little more snug than I would like them. Hopefully my feet are just swollen…the shoes are the same size as the boots after all, and the boots are fine.

So then, for lunch I met up with some friends who I haven't really seen since undergrad uni, but we were able to just pick up where we left off, free from pre-conceived notions and ideals, it was great. They have been in London since March, with him still writing his thesis – all he needs now is a postdoc or something.

I had a major headache on Sunday, but after some bacon & eggs I managed to drag myself down to Asda to restock the house for possibly the last time this year. It has been really really cold lately. I know it must be much colder in places even further north than here, but never before have I experienced sub zero temperatures for days in a row. There have been frosts every morning for about the past week, and heavy icy fog as well. Luckily, unlike in the case of air-conditioning in summer, the English know how to heat a building for winter.

Leave a Reply

