I love the internet

March 22, 2006

Yes I Do. I love the internet. I wish I was one of those creative people out there, changing the way the web works every day. My usual response when people tell me things along the lines of that last sentence is "well just bloody go and get started then". I guess I am in a way, because I'm pursuing (albeit passively) a greater level of knowledge about what's out there.

I would like to adapt some of the emerging concepts of social software (blogging, Flickr, myspace, similar kinds of things) to science somehow. The problem with science is that it would move much faster with better communication. The problem with telling everyone all about your results though is that you risk losing an opportunity to be the first one to do some nice piece of work or discover something or work something out first. The current system rewards, even requires secrecy, because you'll lose the funding to your competitor if you aren't careful. Happily, podcasting is working, for example I love the Nature podcast and the ABC Radio National Science Show podcast, now it'll be interesting to see which other technologies follow.

Ooh and I am a bit late with this one, but Google is now doing for stock charts what it has previously done for maps. Nice.

Much as I love the internet, unfortunately I think that it may be killing my eyes – I have developed a bit of episcleritis (mine looks worse than in that link). The cause (if not idiopathic) could be the cold dry harsh English air that my eyeballs are unused to, or it could be my hours and hours per day of staring at a computer screen, apparently unblinkingly. Or maybe it's some hideous underlying systemic inflammatory disease, hmmm, which would fit with my inflamed and unhappy skin. Hypochondriac! Time and test results will tell. Anyway I have drops and ointments galore and am making an effort to blink more, so I'm hoping it clears up over the next few weeks. If only so people will shut up about it.

Anyway during this evening's screen-staring-fest (mostly via links in the sidebar), I was wandering around various blogs and came across an account of polyphasic sleep, which I had never heard of before. I like it but I think you need to be wholly self-employed to get into that shit. It was linked from an article about how to become an early riser, which I need. Part of the strategy is to go to bed when you're sleepy. I am never sleepy before 2am, there are just so many things out there (on the internet and on tv) that are more interesting than sleep. However, I think a bit of self-discipline (another thing I suck at) probably helps with the adoption of new habits so I'm off to have a shower now.

One Response to “I love the internet”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I completely blame sitting in front of a computer screen for long periods of the day for my ‘blindness’, or really in my opinion “sudden blindness”. I’m sure I wasn’t so useless before. And it’s getting worse, even with my glasses on now I can’t see some things. Soon I will be wearing those coke bottle glasses, now there’s a look I can get into!…

    Leish


Leave a Reply

