London

April 2, 2006

We went to London yesterday. Despite a massive night on Friday (lots of alcohol, very little food), we got up in time to get our 8.35am train, and made it into London a bit after ten. The plan was to head over to the Natural History Museum to see the Wildlife Photographer of the Year exhibition.

First, lunch consisted of some yummy breakfast (bacon and eggs, omelette etc) in a little cafe down Exhibition Rd, sitting outside at a tiny table in the sun. Yes, sun! It was April 1st, but I am not kidding. Then we wandered up to the museum, where found a massive queue to get in. Luckily I had read somewhere that there is an alternate entrance around the corner into the Earth Galleries, so we were able to just walk straight in.

After a few hours of staring at stuff, we got a train back to Embankment, went for a coffee and then for dinner in Chinatown. Due in part to Friday’s exploits, we were pretty tired by about 9pm so we bailed. Got back to Leicester and were in the door before 11pm.

This was the first event in a few weeks of actual Getting Out Of The Flat on the weekends. I have a few days off this week as my sister will be visiting, and we’re going to Amsterdam and Paris for a week over Easter. Very exciting and I am soaking up all the info that I can about these places. I want to see lots, but I also want to chill out – I don’t want to stress about seeing everything like I did when we went to Rome.

Leave a Reply

